Posted May 07, 2013

Tiger Woods: I wouldn’t call in rules violation

Uncategorized
Tiger Woods said he wouldn't call in a rules violation from home. (Jamie Squire/Getty Images)

Tiger Woods said he wouldn’t call in a rules violation from home. (Jamie Squire/Getty Images)

For Tiger Woods, getting busted with a two-shot penalty at the Masters after an illegal drop was just part of the rules and it led to chatter about whether spectators should call in rules violations.

Woods said he doesn’t see himself calling in and letting officials know about a violation.

The two-shot penalty came in the second round at the 15th hole and eventually led to him being out of contention during the weekend. He began the third round five shots behind and finished four strokes behind winner Adam Scott. This week, Woods is at the Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass, which starts Thursday.

“I don’t ever see myself calling in and saying that Kobe (Bryant) traveled or things like that. … or some offensive lineman held,” Woods said Tuesday at TPC Sawgrass, via ESPN.com. “But it’s our sport, and that’s what we’ve accepted. Certain groups are going to get more heat than others just because they’re on TV. It is what it is.”

“I had a lot of momentum going at that time,” he said. “I think I was tied for the lead with Fred (Couples) and I thought I’d stuffed it in there and I thought it was going to be a birdie and I could take the lead there and maybe sneak one in on the final three holes and basically start building a lead in the tournament. And it kind of turned the other way with a good shot.”


6 comments
paul3996
paul3996

Remember, the game of golf requires the golfer to call infractions on himself because nobody is watching him all the time. As a professional golfer it is even more important because that is their livelihood. My question is how can the #1 golfer in the world be so ignorant of the rules and then rely on a rules committee to make two bad calls on one incident. There is only one Tiger Woods.

paul3996
paul3996

What are you all talking about? The phone in call saved his butt. It got the Rules Committee to review the drop and blow  the call while Tiger was still on the course. If that call didn't come and the review didn't take place then Tiger's admission after his round DQs him. End of Story. So if he is saying he is above calling on himself, he should be sending the caller a signed golf ball because he saved him a DQ. He still should have DQ'd himself because at was his ignorance that got him in trouble and according to Judge Judy, ignorance is no defense. For a professional golfer not to know the rules of golf, that is pretty ignorant.

MichaelMidelton
MichaelMidelton

He makes a point though. What about all the players who are never shown on TV, they obviously do not have the scrutiny of the TV couch potatoes calling in violations...how is that fair?

nathan l
nathan l

I think Tiger is being completely honest: there is no chance he would call in a rules violation on himself. I don't think we have any reason to doubt that.

JackWilliams
JackWilliams

I wuz hopin' it was Elin's new golf instructor who called it in.

Samson61
Samson61

Betcha he wasn't down with it when his hoes started calling in and blew his spot up.