Debate still raging over Tiger Woods’ penalty drop at the Masters
Tiger Woods’ 15th-hole penalty drop during the second round of the Masters on Friday stirred up controversy throughout the final two days of the tournament.
After his third shot from 87 yards out hit the pin and caromed into the water, Woods chose to take a one-shot penalty and play his fifth shot from the area of his original shot, resulting in a putt for bogey.
But many have questioned whether he dropped the ball in the correct spot, leading Augusta National officials to review the play.
The Augusta Chronicle posted the above side-by-shot photo that appears to show Woods did indeed drop the ball in the same spot.
From the Huffington Post:
At question is whether that violates Rule 26-1, which states that the ball should be dropped as nearly as possible to the spot where it was last played.
If it’s determined that Woods took his drop in the wrong spot, the penalty is two strokes. He could face disqualification for signing an incorrect score.
“I went back to where I played it from, but went two yards further back and I tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit,” Woods said Friday after he signed for a 71, leaving him three shots out of the lead. “And that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back. I felt that was going to be the right decision to take off four (yards) right there. And I did. It worked out perfectly.”