Posted October 12, 2012

Another Yankees-Orioles postseason home run controversy

MLB

What’s a Yankees-Orioles playoff game without a controversial play?

Another home run call – this one ruled foul – has impacted tonight’s Game 5 of the ALDS. Oriole Nate McLouth’s deep fly ball to right was ruled to go just foul by right field umpire Fieldin Culbreth in the sixth inning. The call was eventually upheld by the umpire crew after reviewing video replay.

Subsequent slow-motion replays, however, appear to show the ball grazing the foul pole for a home run that would have tied the game at 1-1.

TBS reporter Craig Sager reported that a Yankee Stadium usher saw the ball hit the foul pole, but that he could not find any yellow paint on the ball — giving the national media a chance to respond via tweet.

When play was restored, McLouth struck out on the next pitch to end the top of the sixth.

The controversial call will undoubtedly take Baltimore fans back to the Jeffrey Maier incident in Game 1 of the 1996 ALCS between the Yankees and the Orioles. Maier, a 12-year-old youth at the time, reached over the right field fence at Yankee Stadium and brought Derek Jeter’s fly ball into the stands while Orioles outfielder Tony Tarasco waited to catch it. Right field umpire Richie Garcia called it a home run and the Yankees won the game and series.


4 comments
amva55
amva55

I guess the Yankees have a lot of pull, all the controversial calls go their way.

DJL329
DJL329

 @amva55 Right, like when Mark Teixeira was called out at first to end a game against the Orioles last month when he was CLEARLY safe.

UleNotknow
UleNotknow

It hit the pole, although realistically impossible to tell real-time from the field. The slo-mo replay WITH zoom told the story. I guess the umps didn't look at it with the slo-mo zoom when they reviewed. At least they gave it a look.

 

Tough break for the Nats, but tip your hat to the Cards. They played an unbelievable game.

Wisconsin Death Trip
Wisconsin Death Trip like.author.displayName 1 Like

It CLEARLY nicked the outside of the pole....just enough to nudge the direction on replay. Problem is no one has the guts to admit it in the booth and on the field.